A crewel embroidery freebie

I am sick with the flu and my brain is mush so usual posting is on hold. Instead I thought I would post a freebie though because it’s been a long time since the last lot. I thrifted this pattern a few weeks ago, it was drawn in marker pen on a piece of…vellum? Some sort of frosted plasticy stuff. I think it’s a nice simple introduction to crewel embroidery and I’m looking forward to stitching it. The original owner even marked colour choices which is helpful. Half the time I just sit there overwhelmed by what colour to start with. I have two more slightly advanced crewel patterns to scan for you at some stage too. Then I have some candlewicking patterns because I get a lot of hits searching for those. Anyway enjoy the freebie and if you stitch it please let me know, I’d love to see! Click on the picture to get the big version.

Crewel freebie

6 Comments

Filed under embroidery, embroidery transfers

6 responses to “A crewel embroidery freebie

  1. my3boysandi

    get better soon my friend
    jen http://romans1513.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Free crewel pattern · Needlework News @ CraftGossip

  3. Here’s some happy, healthy, healing vibes for you (whether they’ll work from me I’m not sure because I too am full of flu!) xx

  4. bookwormbethie

    I certainly hope you feel better soon! The cooties seem to be going around. A week or two ago, I had a icky cold/sore throat for a few days followed by a stomach bug, ick.

    I hope your kitties are keeping you company on the couch!

  5. Pingback: Yarn Yardage Leftovers: Crewel Embroidery | Craft Leftovers

  6. Thank you so much for sharing this!

    Flowers are always hip!

Leave a comment