Coming back to life

Newborn knit pants

I admit it – if you were one of the people who told me during my first trimester that I would feel better once the first trimester hit…then I owe you an apology for laughing at you. Around 10-11 weeks when I felt like I wanted to be dead rather than pregnant it just felt like the misery would never end. Finally at 15wks I feel alive at last. Not exactly 100% or overflowing with energy (and nerve pains have already arrived) but alive at least. I even sewed something. Until I broke my overlocker. That was a pretty exciting 2 hours though. The worst part is I was on the last seam of the most adorable newborn baby pants I have ever seen in my life. I managed to whizz up a temporary seam on the ordinary sewing machine though so I could technically say I finished something. It just feels so good to say that I finished something. The pattern is from here and even has room in the back for cloth bums. Bonus!

Rocking cradle

The pants were photographed in the wooden rocking cradle I bought this week. Babies grow out of them nearly as fast as they grow out of newborn sized clothes but I knew that above all other unnecessary baby things I would be sad one day if I didn’t buy one of these for our special babe. I have a small list of things that are totally frivolous and unneccesary but damn it, I’m buying them cos it’s my baby and I want them. I don’t want to have any regrets about not doing it my way!

13 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, sewing

13 responses to “Coming back to life

  1. Leslie

    Glad you’re improving. I was thinking in Feb you may not want many long pants. Then I thought, Wellington…My three were all Spring babies and by February were living in singlets and nappies here in the Bay. Gowns are really good with newborns- because you are always at their backsides!
    The cradle is sweet.

  2. Jen

    pleased to hear your beginning to feel better

    nice pants πŸ™‚ and very nice cradle too πŸ™‚

  3. Gorgeous, gorgeous crib! You’ll be glad for buying something you can wheel around the house in those first couple of weeks, because if you’re anything like me you’ll love to have the wee thing within your sight. πŸ™‚
    Glad you’re feeling better, enjoy this easy bit!

  4. toastandcupcakes

    Awesome, Steph. I’m loving the pants, and wholeheartedly agreeing with you buying everything you think you want or need. If this is (possibly) your only babe, then you need to do things exactly how you want to do them : ) That crib is ridiculously beautiful, it will be treasured long after the babe grows out of it too, I’m sure.

  5. I love those pants! I remember thinking I’d never crochet again after trying when I was sick with morning sickness, I was so glad once I was over it and had some energy again.

  6. glenda

    The pants are adorbs, and that cradle is all kinds of gorgeousness — even if you never use it as a cradle, it’s beautiful eye candy ;-). (My son’s crib was rarely used as a crib — it was a great place to contain clean baby clothes that needed to be folded & put away, baby toys, wipes container, diapers, burp rags, etc., though!!)

    Glad the second trimester has ushered in a bit more energy =).

  7. vic

    That crib is so adorable, a total must have just for its cuteness. We had a hammock that Neko ended refusing to sleep in, but I’m still glad we had it hanging there in the months before he was born, it filled me with excitement and wonder just looking at it. And the 3 times he slept in it were very cute!

    So super glad you feel better! Re. the soreness, I highly recommend the hydo pool, 35degrees of pure bless, and later on the DHB runs classes for pregnant woman with a physio. I did those from 28weeks.

    Totally add an Ergo to your list of baby must haves, the best best thing we ever got for Neko! I think I lost all my baby weight by walking everywhere with him in that, much more of a work out than a buggy, plus its good for bub and looking down at their sweet wee face all snuggled into you. The best!

    xox
    Vic & Neko

  8. That crib is lovely and once the baby outgrows it I’m sure that it will look great in the corner of a bedroom, filled with the dozens of soft toys that your baby will be given!

  9. Love the trousers, but love that the earlpy pg fog is lifting so you could make something! Crib is so cute too.

  10. Glad to hear you are feeling a bit better! Those pants are darling πŸ™‚

  11. So glad you are feeling better – it is amazing how much better you can feel. Make the most of this trimester as the following one sees you big and cumbersome and things get harder to do. On the plus side, you will feel lots of movements and you will never feel alone. I loved it. I feel very excited for you….it’s such an amazing journey.
    And you go ahead and buy those luxury things….
    L
    x

  12. Im so glad your feeling better. That little cradle is so sweet:)

  13. love these !
    hey life’s one ride only, go for it — whatever it is — regrets are an awful thing ! xoxo

Leave a Reply

