Yarn Along

I finished the body of my puerperium cardigan last week and just have the sleeves left to do. And of course the part that takes the longest – choosing the buttons. I’ve put it aside for the past week to learn magic loop knitting so I can finish the sleeves nicely. I decided to learn the technique on a little pair of baby legwarmers and if someone else was working on them they would also work up really quickly. It will actually look like a legwarmer in a few days I hope but my time is being split a little thin this week. I’m sewing up a storm for the first time in months and then yesterday we had a big huge thing happen – we had our IVF drug instruction session and got our injectable drugs. Talk about daunting! And I had to inject myself with an empty needle to prove to the nurse that I can do it. We start our injections next Thursday and I can probably look forward to some fairly fun menopausal symptoms. Yay.

IVF drugs

And the magic loop technique? I am so embarrassed about how afraid I was to try it and how incredibly easy I found it. I find new things hard to learn but magic loop was most definitely not hard and I’m pretty sure I will never go back to straight needles voluntarily! No more seaming!

Yarn Along

The book is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and so far it is really good if slightly creepy. I tried so hard with The Night Circus but I finally decided that if I kept reading I would constantly be asking myself if I was enjoying it or not. And I was never quite sure if I was. Reading should definitely not be that hard!

9 Comments

Filed under infertility, yarn, yarn along

9 responses to “Yarn Along

  1. I love love the colour of your yarn… and indeed you’re right you should be enjoying your reading…. I night pick up a copy but I prefer to crochet than read!

    AND…. good, good, good luck with the IVF.. I’m actually feeling quite excited with you.

    Big woolley hugs to you and all xxxxxxx

  2. Well Done for mastering magic loop! It’s something that is on my to do list this year. Your little cardigan looks really lovely. Wishing you all the luck in the world with your IVF too :O)x

  3. Wishing you the very very best for your IVF, I just know it is going to be a success! Rachaelxo

  4. I will await your final critique of the book before I get it. It looks good to me but I just wasn’t sure.

  5. Sending lots of good vibes all the way around the world for only minor craziness during your treatment and a happy outcome down the road!

  6. That’s so interesting – I’m reading the same book and I saw it on a few posts last week. Great minds think alike!

  7. Jen

    my thoughts and prayers are with you

  8. So as a knitter who is terrified of double points – how did you learn the magic loops method – from a book or a class? Thanks!

  9. I remember all those IVF drugs! Good luck with the shots… I will be praying for a GREAT outcome!
    -gabesmom14

Leave a Reply

