2012

I am really liking 2012. SO much more than 2011. 7 days in and I can just tell, this year is going to be a good one. Last year had too many crappy things to count. This year has started with yarn, knitting, a trip to the beach, holding a baby, picking home grown food, a weight loss (25.9kg/57lb total lost!) and tomorrow is The Day. The Day we start IVF!! Yep, it’s here! Admittedly the first two weeks is actually just me taking the pill (as in the contraceptive pill!) every day! Hello acne face. But then the injections start. The first injected drug mimics menopause. Ironic or what? Birth control pills then fake menopause to make a baby. So after the acne I then get hot flushes, night sweats, blinding headaches and even more tired than usual. Then the next injections after that give you uncomfortable bloating as the follicles (where the eggs grow) grow abnormally large. My kid isn’t even conceived and it’s already causing me nothing but frustration.

Yum

Broke my new years goal not to buy any yarn until mid March. Twice. On January 1st. Totally worth it. I’m going to do it again next week I think. The white is handspun locally and the money I spent helps support micro development in Myanmar. And the grey is semisolid hand-dyed merino superwash. Like I said…totally worth it.

Puerperium WIP

Since I broke my first goal on Day 1 it seemed appropriate to replace it with a goal I actually have a chance of keeping. Challenge my knitting abilities (learn short rows, magic loop and continental style knitting) and knit one item of baby clothing a month. I am a slower than slow knitter so this will be an exercise in focusing. And item one involves raglan shaping, magic loop sleeves and generally paying more attention than I have ever paid before.

Otaki beach

We went up to Otaki beach yesterday and had fruit ice cream and a walk on the beach. Man, summer rules!

10 Comments

Filed under infertility, knitting, yarn

10 responses to “2012

  1. good luck with the next two weeks, so exciting 🙂

  2. Happy New Year to you, and good luck for the next few months. I seldom get around to commenting but I really enjoy seeing all the cool things you make and find, and I always like your witty commentary that goes with it.

  3. Jen

    my thoughts and prayers are with you and will continue to be
    remember that everything you go throu will be so …totally worth it.:)

    i shall be thinking of you xoxox

  4. Wow, what a fantastic start you’ve had and its only been a week into the new year… I have my eyes, my toes, my legs (??) and my fingers crossed for you… I really do. x

  5. bookwormbethie

    I hope your initial hope and enthusiasm you have currently for 2012 does not waiver during this year. Best of luck with all the BIG DEAL stuff that is coming up very soon!

  6. Glenda

    I remember how rough 2011 started, so I’m very glad to hear 2012 is starting off MUCH better :-).

    Girl, you’ve lost double the weight as I. I know how good my loss feels on me, physically; you must feel light as a feather!! Given any thought to running?

    You should see and feel some of the donated yarns I’ve been supporting for the outreach effort I’m working on. I’m not a yarn person, but even I can tell some of them are uber-fabulous ;-). There will be some very happy knitters and crocheters in Bastrop, Texas, USA, at the end of February!

    A walk on the beach sounds lovely :-).

    So, what homegrown food have you been picking???

  7. Leslie

    Oh, funny Steph! we came back from Otaki Beach on Friday night! Have had lots of computer issues so have been out of touch but back now. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  8. I wish you a wonderful and precious year and I wish you all the best with the ivf. The yarn you bought is lovely.

  9. Wishing you the very best of luck on your baby journey Steph! Rachaelxo

  10. na

    Wishing you the best for 2012! And soo jealous of your walk on the sand in the summer sun. 😉 Take care, hugs!

Leave a Reply

