Stashbusting

I’ve been spending the past month ‘shopping the stash’ rather than buying yarn. Money is tight and I have more yarn than one person really needs so I thought I would challenge myself to find projects to match the yarn I already have. It’s actually inspired a surprising amount of creative ideas.

A photo for Ravelry

– A baby bib from Mason-Dixon Knitting. I swore off stripes after the baby hats so of course it totally makes sense that the very next project I made was a stripey one. This was a great way to use up small balls of cotton and there will totally be more of these…but not yet. I really do need a break from stripes. So many ends to weave in for one little bib! 14 of them.

Bunting flags

– Rainbow bunting. Call me a child but I never tire of rainbow colours. I’m thinking boy colours are next. And I still have to decide how to hang the flags. The ridiculously easy pattern is from here – and it takes insanely little yarn and time to make.

Milo Soaker

– A Milo Soaker from Vintage Baby Knits. It’s knit flat and seamed so it’s also ridiculousy easy but you could easily do it in the round (and if I could handle dpn’s I would).

Doll cradle

– I’ve (sort of) finished the dolls cradle revamp too! Lobotomy Dolly (the closing seam on the top of her head makes her look like she had one) is on a slant because the mattress is only half stuffed but it’s close enough to finished for me. The mattress was pink flannelette from my stash and the wool stuffing is too. And yet somehow my stash doesn’t seem to be shrinking. Ahem, I have no idea why.

5 Comments

Filed under knitting, making stuff

5 responses to “Stashbusting

  1. great work! I’m curious about the soaker–have you used this pattern before, and how well does it hold in leaks? I usually see the ones with more of a cuff at the thighs. I’ve never made soakers before but would like to the next time the need arises 😉

  2. Jen

    very cool bib especially the button

    good job with the cradle makes me want to play with it 🙂

  3. glenda

    Great ways to use what you have! I especially love the rainbow bunting.

  4. bookwormbethie

    wow, you’ve been busy! 14 bibs! do you have a craft fair coming up?

  5. adorable knits, especially the rainbow bunting and soaker:) I so need some knitting motivation so I can finish a few projects and then feel justified in starting something new. Thanks for the idea of using a sheet for my market table cloth, i think a single bed sheet will be perfect size and so much easier to clean

Leave a Reply

