baby weight

January sucked. It threw everything at us. February is starting a little bit rocky but I do have one good thing to share. After 7 1/2 months of exercise, weight watchers and bloody hard work I have now lost enough weight to be referred for fertility treatment!! I started at 108.7kg and last night I hit 87kg exactly. That’s 21.7kg (47.7lb) lost! 87kg at WW is 85kg at the hospital (I weigh in wearing less at the hospital) and that’s the weight the doctor told me I have to weigh. So today I had the unimaginable pleasure of calling his nurse about being referred for treatment. I have to remember not to get too excited though. We’ve known for several months that IVF is our only option and it is medically considered the last resort. The wheels of the public health system don’t move very fast and indeed it can feel like they aren’t moving at all. It’ll be a couple of months to get an appointment then about 10 months to get to the head of the IVF list and then IVF takes….as long as it takes. I turn 32 in April and most likely I’ll be turning 33 before I even start IVF and I know I’ll shed many more tears of frustration before then but of the many hurdles on this journey we finally have one behind us.

Big things on my mind

10 Comments

Filed under infertility, mosaic love

10 responses to “baby weight

  1. Jen

    yaye wtg 🙂 🙂 🙂

    hope February works out much better than January did

    praying for you both

  2. I am so so wonderfully happy for you to have attained this goal Steph and hope that everything works out for you two! And of course, I LOVE the mosaic. 🙂

  3. Gosh, you’ve worked so hard with such a clear goal in mind. Well done! (and those baby toes! Melt!)

  4. Many congratulations! Good Luck on the list!

  5. Well Done with the weight loss ~ you should be very proud of yourself! I hope that everything works out the way you want it to ~ Good Luck :O)x

  6. Congratulations on reaching your goal! Just remember that time flies, your day will come before you even know it! Happy thoughts coming your way from sunny California 🙂

  7. Awesome and very inspiring~~!!
    You are so young. Do not worry about the age yet!
    I had my first at 36 and second a few days before I turned 40.
    My friend that did IVF had her first at 35 ( after many many years trying IVF) and second ( twins) after she turned 40.
    Good luck!!

  8. I’m so happy and excited for you. I know you’ve worked so so hard for this and I hope this is the beginning and that this story has a wonderful ending 🙂

  9. glendasikes

    You’ve made some awesome progress =).

    I think it’s amazing (in a good way) that your public health system pays for IVF. I’ve known people here in the U.S. who’ve gone through it and it can be financially overwhelming. I’m glad you guys aren’t having that particular hurdle.

    Will you continue losing weight, or maintain for a bit?

  10. bookwormbethie

    super duper duper duper congrats steph!

Leave a Reply

