Finding some calm

I kindly (I may have been swayed by the money they offered) offered to babysit my walking partners 5-year-old son for 3 days this week while both his parents work. And repeat that generosity during the last 2 weeks of January. Oh my. Within half an hour he had decided tiddlywinks was boring, set the farmyard up (SO glad I thrifted that now!) and chucked the coloured pencils away in favour of the felt pens. He watched 3 kids movies, checked the mail box, annoyed Dave (my saviour today!), stood in the rain and drank it (yummy apparently), traumatised the cats (Ginga hid for the day), developed an obsession with a door, fiddled with the computers, found the matches I forgot to hide and generally exhausted me. I slept badly last night so I went into today compromised – it’s like blood sports, they can sense your weakness and take you down! My mantra until 3pm Wednesday is “think of the money!” and I am! He’s bringing his bike tomorrow but unfortunately the weather is supposed to get even worse. Gah, that kid needs to burn off some energy! There’s a reason I want a daughter!

Finding some calm.

I got about 2 rows of knitting down on my 2 current projects (which most likely will not be ready on the 25th at this speed) but took great (overwhelming really) joy in just sitting this evening, listening to the clicking of my needles, knitting a few rows of mindless, repetitive garter stitch and being calm. The needles are small and the projects are slow but right now, slow is what I need in every sense. Calm, slow and quiet. From 3pm tomorrow and the next day I will be wrapping myself in it like a blanket.

In progress

Just think of the yarn I can buy with that money I am earning.

7 Comments

Filed under knitting

7 responses to “Finding some calm

  1. I feel your pain Steph! If you can, maybe try making salt dough ornaments, Christmas crafting maybe similar to your crocheted chains with construction paper, reading, making cookies, observation walks, collecting nature things… Check out Crafty Crow, Unplug your kids, Kids Craft Weekly.
    Good luck and keep calm!
    Hugs, Hettie

  2. glendasikes

    Hopefully you’ll get a good night’s sleep; that makes a HUGE difference!!

    It can be overstimulating for kids to be someplace new, and it makes sense that he wants to explore the new-to-him environment.

    If it’s not lightning while raining, take advantage of that and play in the rain!! (Call his mom before they leave home in the morning and ask her to bring an extra set of clothes for him.)

    Adults tend to have lost that sense of adventure and abandon that young kids have, and tend to think “no” more than “sure, why not!”. Every time you find yourself thinking “no, we can’t do that”, stop and ask yourself “why not?”. Say “yes”, or some form of “yes”, as often as possible. (Example of some form of “yes”: “we can’t play in the rain while it’s lightning, but we *can* play in it or go splash in puddles after the thunder and lightning are gone”.)

    A mini-trampoline (or rebounder) is great for burning off energy indoors. We had one when my son was young and all my nieces and nephews loved it when they were young too.

    You know, right, that if you have a sense of dread, he’ll pick up on that?!!

    “There’s a reason I want a daughter” — Um, not all girls are low-energy and not all boys are high-energy!! ;-).

    Enjoy your knitting =). That’s pretty cool that it brings you a sense of calm — it wasn’t all that many days ago that it didn’t. Progress!

  3. Leslie

    Ho ho ho ;0) busy aren’t they? At least you get to hand back the test drive ones! The park, especially if you know anyone else with a little one- you need the company as much/more than the child, indoor playgrounds will do- and you get coffee, ditto dreaded McDs at a pinch- do NOT eat the food but it won’t kill him, and the playground is under cover.
    Scary as it sounds, two can be easier than one. Does he have a schoolfriend whose mother would be grateful to offload him/her for a little ‘playdate’ for a couple of hours? Or someone’s dog to walk? My best advice is get out of the house in the morning if you can, then it’s okay to flop in the arvo. After all 11-4 is BURN TIME… One of my boys loves to help in the garden.
    Baking is good- pikelets, bread, even. Keep it simple- the mess will be astonishing anyway.
    Anyway, how are you? Happy Christmas! L x

  4. What a sweetie you are to offer to babysit! I watch my grandson( he’s 18 mos) and know how unnerving it can be to babysit. Try reading together when you need the bustling about to slow down. Don’t know if you have a gym the local school lets the kids play in–they call it open gym here. The suggestion about playing in the rain is right on. Especially looking for worms and such that come out when it rains. Lastly my PBS station is a godsend for distracting them; for about a 1/2 hour or so anyway. Merry Christmas to you and blessings in the the new year!

  5. Oh, I hate to break it to you, but my one year old daughter is way more exhausting at this age than my son was…I don’t even want to think about what she’ll be like when she’s 4 (which Josh is now and he is super exhausting), ha ha!

    But you never know, boy or girl you might get a mellow kid ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Even the mellow ones have their moments though, it is worth it no matter what. I hope your turn is not too far away!

  6. Jen

    Ive always felt that you can cope with your own childrens business much better than when one babysits
    you get to know your own child so well
    what they are interested in
    what slows them down
    etc
    I think also you dont get whammed into it
    you are with them from day one
    you grow and learn and adjust to them
    you have a routine with them

    I agree a good nights sleep helps
    Ill be thinking about you ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. bookwormbethie

    ditto, i’ve known some really super duper high energy little girls…..
    the little boy seems to happy at your house as you made no reports at all of him crying after his mom dropped him off ๐Ÿ˜‰ he must like you, this is good practice for you! so glad you are loving your knitting!

Leave a Reply

