A New Toy

Thank you for your kind birthday wishes! I’m sorry if I made anyone feel old! Just my lack of patience freaking out over another candle on the cake – not that anyone bothers to make me a cake now. I do sort of wish Dave had bought me flowers though. I’d probably worry that he was having an affair if he started being romantic like that though! He did buy me something I wanted though – and by ‘buy’ I mean we have a joint account and I can access his money so I told him I was buying it. Yeah, obviously romance isn’t exactly flowing on my side either. But he didn’t say no (his eyes bugged out of his head slightly at the price though) so I am now the proud owner of…..

My birthday present

an overlocker (or for you Americans a serger)!! The money from his mothers house is so close to being gone (this didn’t help it!) so I thought I would squeeze it in before we become poor again. I have wanted one for ages and I know I am going to get a lot of use out of it making clothes. I’m tired of buying made in China clothes with no hem allowance or that falls apart within a week. I’ve thrifted a ton of fabric lately, knits and linens and fleeces, that I am dying to make into….so many things! The frosts have arrived with a vengeance this past week (guess what my least favourite season is?) so the first project is probably going to be flannel pyjama pants! Mmmmmm cozy jammies.

10 Comments

Filed under sewing

10 responses to “A New Toy

  1. jen

    very nice 🙂
    enjoy it
    and happy birthday once again

  2. Now that is a nice gift! Happy belated birthday!

  3. one good apple

    My eyes are burning with jealously – what a great birthday present! x

  4. Wow, what an awesome pressie! I am sure you’ll have loads of fun with that, can’t wait to see what you make.

    It is flippin’ freezing these mornings, isn’t it? Looks like it’s going to be another gorgeous day today though, and it’s already warming up out there.

  5. bookwormbethie

    happy belated birthday, and hurrah for your overlocker/serger. it’s one of those sharing gifts you know cuz dave will benefit from it to 😉 i mean you could have bought yourself jewelry or something, but no, you are a good wifey and thought of dave too when considering your own birthday gift, so you can make clothes for both you and him and hopefully someday y’alls little baby!

  6. Looking forward to seeing what you’ll make with this wonder! 🙂

  7. glendasikes

    I’ve heard great things about sergers. Have you tried it out yet?

    Having been married many years 🙂 I just want to say that husbands / boyfriends really appreciate knowing exactly what it is you want — there’s nothing wrong with telling Dave that for your birthday next year you’d really love him to get you some flowers. Our guys can’t read our minds, and it’s a drag to feel disappointed when they don’t — so rather than being disappointed, be honest about what you want, then you will *both* be happy!!

  8. What a fun gift.

    Jon just bought me a new weaving loom the same way Dave bought your overlocker 🙂

  9. Have fun with the pj’s can’t wait to see what you make. I just took my serger out of the box, threaded it and am in the middle of making a kid’s dress from thrifted fabrics, too.

  10. way better than flowers Steph! Rachaelxo

Leave a Reply

