Moving House part 1

I’ll split it into two parts and show you the house photos next time when I’ve tidied a bit more away. For now I’ve got a doozy of a moving story for you. We moved on Friday, the movers were booked at 11am, the carpet cleaner for 2pm and there would be just enough time for me to vacuum in between. Then clean the oven etc and off to spend Friday night in our very own home. Ignorance is bliss as they say. At 11.30 I rang my grandma for the movers number which was an Auckland number. They gave me a mobile number for the guys down here in Wellington. I got it wrong and had to call Aucklan back. Just as I dialed the right number the local guy rang and said the mover was having ‘access’ problems on a job that started at 8am and wouldn’t be there until maybe 3pm. I nearly had a stroke on the spot. At 3.45pm I rang back and asked where my moving men were. The guy finally tracks me down a pair of movers and a van who arrive at 4.30pm about 10 minutes after a sudden and fierce storm. Torrential rain, thunder like I have never heard and of course they took one look at our stuff and said they’d prefer not to move it in the rain etc etc. Fair enough, they work 14 hour days every day of the week. Nobody wants to work until 10pm in the rain on a Friday. They very kindly moved our bed and some boxes of clothes and bedding to the new house for free so we could at least spend the night in it. We arranged to meet them back at the old place at 7.30am on Saturday.

At 7.30am we all arrive and I realise I forgot the keys. It’s at least 50 minutes there and back. Cue the curse words. But one of the movers managed to break in through a window that I had always thought was secure. Bit of an eye opener!! Then he threw the keys out which hit me in the face. Awesome, thanks. After that it went fast, they moved our stuff in 90 minutes (we moved Dave’s 11 computers and 4 giant monitors ourselves which helped!). I then got to work cleaning and vacuuming and we moved the last lot of breakables and the cats ourselves. Then back on Monday for the carpet cleaner. And the phone/internet installation was booked for the 12th but they wrote it down as the 17th and didn’t tell us. I have never made or received as many calls as I did this past weekend.

But you know what? It doesn’t really matter now. Then it certainly did but now we’re in and it’s fabulous. There’ the usual teething problems – Ginga cries all night long, the washing line snapped in my hand and there’s a leaky tap, the power metre clicks at random times etc. But it’s all ours. It’s completely beautiful in all it’s ‘formally owned by an old lady’ glory. I’ve removed most of the net curtains, other than those essential to privacy. I have plans to paint a kitchen cupboard with blackboard paint asap and I am so close to finally picking a colour for my craft room. Thanks for your idea! I’m thinking light sage green for my room, light blue for Dave’s and cream for our bedroom with lots of colourful accessories. But of course that’s my choices right this minute. Ask me in five minutes and it might be different. Maybe red for the bedroom….no no brown. And cream and tan. No, birds egg blue. Gah!

Here’s a few photos:

I finally got around to checking out the garden. Potatoes! Hopefully they aren’t all green. And a peach from next doors tree hanging over the fence. Next summer might be yum around here!

Bounty

A peek at my craft room for now. Some modernising has to happen pronto! I really wish we could afford to replace that ancient carpet but alas I’m on the lookout for a nice rug for now.

A peek

I’ve finally started walking again and it feels really good. I walk down to the shopping centre most days – probably why it feels so good. The thrift store is expensive but I never leave empty handed. Has anyone else noticed a pick up in thrifting quality this year? I have really scored big several times. Today I got this enormous and handmade(!) apron that will be perfect for baking – I am tired of wearing cocoa down my front

Vintage apron

I saw this handstitched and very vintage bunny once when we came over to view the house but next time we came I didn’t see it and regreted not getting it. I found it this week again and was really happy to score it. I think it will look wonderful on a nursery shelf – ‘look, don’t touch’ obviously.

Thrifted

And one of Rastus that my old neighbour took last week. Isn’t he the handsomest boy ever? I’m so happy his face healed up so well – his look are all he has!

My boy

Whew, what a catch up! Part 2 with some pictures as soon as the house is fit to be seen. And according to random.org the winner of the giveaway for the SuperVery pendant is #22 – Julia. Julia, I’ll be in touch. Thanks for all your colour suggestions!

9 Comments

Filed under cats, moving, thrifting

9 responses to “Moving House part 1

  1. jen

    Oh far out
    I never thought of you guys moving in that storm

    wow Dave sure does have a lot of computers!!!

    Im you finally got in

    LS its beautiful!!!
    Cant wait to see more photos

    nice apron

    cute Mrs Bunny

    And one of Rastus that my old neighbour took last week. Isn’t he the handsomest boy ever? I’m so happy his face healed up so well – his look are all he has!

    Whew, what a catch up! Part 2 with some pictures as soon as the house is fit to be seen. And according to random.org the winner of the giveaway for the SuperVery pendant is #22 – Julia. Julia, I’ll be in touch. Thanks for all your colour suggestions!

  2. jen

    opps sori about the end of my comment

  3. Hee! Hiya Persephone – I’ve just discovered your blog. Nice. Well done on the move – you’ve been busy. Love the apron, too.

  4. Glad you made it into the house in one piece! Have fun nesting in your new place!

    Your sewing room looks so cute…can’t wait to see how you decorate it 🙂

  5. Cute picture of Rastus! I’m so happy for you, being in a new house that you love. Moving sounds like a nightmare…similar things happened with my move.

  6. whoa, that does sound like an awful lot of stress for a move! Have fun decorating your place, especially your sewing room! I think the colors for paint sound great!

  7. bookwormbethie

    sorry about the stress of moving but glad you are in your new house! you and dave will have so much fun decorating and painting and making it your own space.

    and rastus looks super handsome (which i’m sure he knows!) and you can’t even tell that he was badly injured

  8. Congrats on the new house! We just bought our first house too & it is amazing isn’t it to finally own your own place 🙂

    Look at Rastus all adorable! 🙂

  9. Fastidious answers in return of this issue wuth solid arguments
    annd describing everything concerning that.

Leave a Reply

