Right Now

Today marks exactly TWO weeks until we move. We paid the deposit, I’ve booked the movers and it’s really real. The past few weeks have been all about what’s coming soon, what I’ll be glad to get away from and just generally looking ahead. Today I’ve forced myself to stop and look at what makes me happy right now:

– New glasses for the first time in TEN years! I can see!! And $350 less than quoted. Oh yes please.

– My beautiful boy:
My boy

– A kilo (2.5lb) of pure wool for stuffing toys for less than $20. It’s normally twice that at least. Score!

– Recent mail:
Recent Mail

I’m so looking forward to having a garden soon. One of the best things about having our own house has got to be not having to ask permission for every little thing. And I hear only good things about this bread book too.

– Plenty of packing boxes:
Moving boxes

Every day just a little bit more gets packed and stacked. It helps me feel like it’s not a dream – and keep on top of having so very much stuff to pack. This is the first time we’ve been able to afford movers and oh I could cry with relief. Worth EVERY cent.

– Balls:
Balls

I felt like making something other than my usual pentagon balls for a change. They make me feel very happy and summery. Not just because it IS summer and I AM happy.

8 Comments

Filed under cats, home, mail love, making stuff, sewing

8 responses to “Right Now

  1. Lesley

    I just wanted to wish you all the best with your move and tell you how pleased i am for you that one of your dreams is about to come true. Your house looks lovely. As someone who is renting at the moment i know the longing of having your own place. Have lots of fun unpacking and planning your garden. Love Lesley x

  2. bookwormbethie

    i think you’re officially a grown-up now since you’ve rented proper movers. when hubby & I moved into our house we did it ourselves, lots and lots of trips in the car. lucky you for hiring movers!

    congrats on your glasses too, i can’t even begin to imagine how you waited 10 years to renew your prescription?!?!?!?!!?

  3. OMG! It’s got to be wonderful to see again. No comments about the 10 yrs. thing as it’s been about 5 for me; I do miss seeing clearly. I love your felt balls. Could you tell me did you create the pattern? If you did, could I purchase a copy?

  4. oh Steph, how exciting for you! Rachaelxo

  5. glendasikes

    All the moving preps, while stressful at times, are really quite fun, IMO. Have fun!!

  6. I am excited about a lot of things, but I think I’m the MOST excited about the movers. HOORAY!

    Also, I’ve almost bought that bread book about five times. Let us know if you make things our of it!

  7. I am so excited for you!!! You must be beside yourself!

  8. jen

    yahoooo TWO weeks till you move 🙂

Leave a Reply

