Temporary chaos

We are living in a state of complete and utter chaos right now and it’s….well you can imagine how it feels. I still have so very much to do that it feels hard to believe how far we have actually come. I’m desperately wishing the house would pack itself and I still have to arrange the movers, carpet cleaner and the power company. And transport for a lawn mower that is currently 6 hours north of here and enough stock for 2 craft fairs and apparently in there I am also supposed to cook, clean and not go doolally lala. And go to the lawyer with an enormous house deposit cheque. And pack and move house. And buy a new fridge, washing machine, chest freezer and oven. And time it so they get delivered to the new house just when we move in. It’s….well I think it’s definitely time for my blog to go silent for a week or two. I was so busy today I forgot to cook dinner. Not a big deal when it’s something easy but it was a roast chicken so it required a complete change of plan. And that brings me to another issue I am struggling with – establishing a rhythm. I have not yet managed to successfully start a menu plan. I tried it but forgot to buy every ingredient I needed but one.

So I need to try find a little time to plan out a wee schedule. Perhaps a weekly roster – baking day, laundry day etc. As well as work on that menu planning. And pack. And sew. Dave caught me talking to myself last night, I really must say I’m not surprised. I’m actually surprised he hasn’t found me rocking in the fetal position in the corner yet….oh that’s right. There are no free corners in my house. There is simply no space to go doolally in comfort. A fact I find rather reassuring right now! See you in a couple of weeks!

P.S. I’m giving the yarn from Dave’s mother to a couple of women who knit puppy sweaters for the SPCA to keep them warm in the winter. You can get the pattern here if you’re interested! There’s one for little girl and one for little boys – any mother knows why boys need a special one 🙂 They also have a crochet pattern on that link as well.

7 Comments

Filed under home

7 responses to “Temporary chaos

  1. good luck sweetheart! don’t get too stressed – its the most exciting move ever! and you don’t have to be unpacked in a week either so just go with the flow. let the packers do their stuff and just concentrate on getting the cats moved. That’ll be the stressful bit, believe you me!

  2. Wow what an amazing job you are doing, organizing moving into your very own home how very exciting. And still having time to think about blogging, menu planning and organizing a day for laundry etc. I totally admire you. I’m trying to menu plan too, I think doing for a fortnight at a time might be the key possibly? What a good idea to have days for each job that needs to be done. Good luck with all the moving, what an awesome feeling it will be to be in your own home.

  3. Hang in there it will all be over soon and you’ll be able to collapse blissfully in your new home. 😉 We lived on fast food and take out for around two weeks when we moved to our house. On the bright side enjoy your shopping. 🙂

  4. It will all be worth it come March!

    I remember our first house and organising everything to arrive on our moving day. Everything arrived… except the bed!! So we had to stay the night at my parents, which kind of took the shine off things. But I am sure you will be fine!

  5. jen

    Ill miss you but its understandable

    all the best

    one room at a time

    Honey its ok talking to yourself its when you start answering yourself back that its a worry 🙂

    good idea with that wool

    and just think if you and Dave never want to move again you dont have too

  6. such a busy time, have lots of lists and cross of as you go! take care, don’t stress, worth it! Can’t wait for pics of the inside of the new house! Rachaelxo

  7. Wow. Such a lot of stuff to do. Hang in there. Look forward to seeing tons of pictures!

Leave a Reply

