Dyeing yarn with kool aid

Candy floss

I’m calling this colour Candy Floss because that’s what this stuff reminds me of – or cotton candy as you may know it. 50gm of merino wool, 2 sachets of old pink lemonade kool aid from my trip to the US and viola, pink. This stuff only comes in offwhite, black and several shades of grey but I just love how good it feels to crochet with so I decided to try dyeing it. I am in love with pink lemonade but not so much with the kool aid version. Even if I only added half or less of  the recommended 1 cup of sugar to it I still felt terribly unhealthy so I never finished all the stuff a friend sent from the US after my trip there left me missing a few things unavailable here. I actually ended up selling the rest of it to other people to dye THEIR wool with and now I am interested in dyeing I could kick myself!! Am going to have to buy the local version of kool aid and see how that works out. I can see myself buying and dyeing a LOT more yarn while the weather is nice and warm to dry it.

It’s not 100% perfect, the dye didn’t get absorbed properly around a couple of the ties so there’s some streaky white bits….but I meant it to do that obviously. We’ll just call it a little extra visual interest and hope my crochet book I ordered gets here asap so I can start making those baby booties. Ooohhh and pink, grey and off white….would be a pretty scarf or cowl for me….oh boy, new expensive addiction alert! Might have to start selling it on etsy to pay for my habit. The sooner I start selling it the worse you know my dyeing habit is.

8 Comments

Filed under dyeing, yarn

8 responses to “Dyeing yarn with kool aid

  1. glendasikes

    Ohhhhh, that’s so purty :). Yes, it’s very much the color of cotton candy!

    If you need some packets of KoolAid mailed over from the States, you are welcome to ask me anytime — it’s a standing offer ^-^

  2. It’s gorgeous, and I bet it smells lovely!

  3. MiA

    It’s a lovely color! Great result 🙂
    Would like to try koolaid-dyeing some day.. but read somewhere that it does not work with cottonyarn, which is what I use the most.

  4. You did a good job with that pink cool aid. The yarn looks pretty. Can’t wait to see your project with pink yarn. Will it be a pretty scarf?

  5. Nicky

    The color is lovely ! What is the local version of Kool Aid ??
    Id like t try it.

  6. Oooh I love it! Clever you! …and where did you find the un-dyed wool?

  7. It is a great color. I want to dye too.

Leave a Reply

