Counting down

There is one month until settlement date on Dave’s mother’s house and then in early February we should get Dave’s share of the profit to buy our own house. It has felt like settlement would never get here but now it seems to be hurtling towards us. And it’s 2010 next week already? No freaking way! I’m trying hard not to start crossing off the days on the calendar! We’ve been looking a little more thoroughly at houses, affordable suburbs and fridge prices which is both surprisingly scary and uber exciting. Oh yes and 42″ flat screen plasma TV’s. We are so so weak.

Between the excitement of that, the stress of ‘babysitting’ my sister (who selfharms and is epileptic) I’m finding it very very hard to stay calm now. And I’m also feeling the pressure to get onto making a few things on my neverending house list. I have been slowly working on my kitchen mat which is the perfect mindless project when I literally have only time to do 10 stitches and don’t want to worry that I got the pattern wrong:

Kitchen mat

I’m also hoping to finish my ripple scarf before winter arrives around the end of April. Sometimes I think I might manage it, other times I can’t tell. I’m a slooow crocheter! It’s 1/3 done now though.

Ripple scarf + butt

I tried to get Rastus to leave the table for the scarf shot but this was his reply:

Hmmppff

Sometimes I have the suspicion that we’re just allowed to live here because they need us to open the food for them.

4 Comments

Filed under cats, crochet, making stuff

4 responses to “Counting down

  1. Jen

    LOL you and your cat πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    my dear friend I am praying for your sister. I have almost gotten over my scratching problem. Have been seeing a physiologist this year which seems to have helped πŸ™‚

    how exciting your plans sound

  2. bookwormbethie

    exactly, we have the thumbs, our 4-legged pets need us for our thumbs

  3. God bless you for the caring of your sister. And yes cats do own their people. πŸ™‚

  4. the mat is coming along beautifully! That’s so sweet of you to be taking care of your sister.

Leave a Reply

