A dose of the happies

If you read my blog even semi-regularly you know I love to moan. But how boring is that? It’s Christmastime and I don’t want to even think of all the bad things. None of that until after the holidays. I’m bored of it frankly. So here’s to the happy side of life, just this once!

Family Christmas was yesterday. Always fun putting 15 people in a room that normally sits 6. Our motto is “arrive late and leave early”. But it was fun, we got lots of very welcome presents and my grandma was in raptures over her pottery bowl because it matches her curtains.

Crewel flower

I was admiring this small tablecloth and it turned out that my grandma made it in a class! The stitching is tiny, even smaller than my stitches. I had no idea my grandma had ever embroidered. Although from what she said this rather involved project put her off for life! Not what I would have chosen for a beginners class.

tablecloth

Apparently my great grandma made this one! It’s beyond perfect. It is impeccably done, those flowers are repeated on all four corners and that purple stem stitch goes around the whole thing. It must have taken ages and she was clearly an expert embroiderer. She even crocheted the edge trim with the worlds tiniest hook. I wish she had lived long enough for me to learn more about her and appreciate her for more than her candy bowl!

muppet cushion

I also found this cushion at my grandma’s. How many muppets died to make this thing? And why? WHY???

Felting for baby

This was in my mailbox this morning. I love ordering books then forgetting I ordered them. It makes it so much sweeter when they arrive. There are some awesome projects in here and I can’t wait to spend the holiday break trying some of them out.

In other happy news the vet bill will be paid off very soon and life can resume. I haven’t seen next doors cats for days. And for the first time since May Rastus is no longer hissing. A few weeks after we got Ginga back Rastus went to the vet for a bite wound courtesy of next door. Since then he has hissed. At us, at poor petrified Ginga, at the front door, at the bedroom. He refused to set foot in the bedroom. But when he came home from his latest vet stay…no hissing. At us anyway. Poor Ginga still cops it in the face. But he’s 99% back to his old self and we can now pick him up and not fear a paw to the face.I even caught the cats lying bum to bum on the bed one day. I nearly cried. I nearly cry at anything but still…

4 Comments

Filed under cats, embroidery, mail love

4 responses to “A dose of the happies

  1. Wow! Your grandmother and great-grandmother are/were both very talented! What lovely examples of embroidery! Pity that your grandmother was put off by the work she had to do, but she certainly had good skills.

    Thanks for sharing the photos.

  2. Beautiful hand embroidered heirlooms !
    Cute book … Enjoy it !

  3. bookwormbethie

    show up late and leave early, you are so funny, your dry sense of humor is so freakin’ hilarious!

  4. Your grandma & great grandma’s work is fantastic. Are you lucky enough to be the keeper of this treasury?

Leave a Reply

