Fail-tastic

After meaning to for months I finally got around to menu planning for the last grocery shop. The theory behind it is that we will have two weeks of varied meals, I will know what to cook each night (but can change days if I have to) and eventually we will save money by planning. What a big fat fail it turned out to be. I forgot to buy practically everything. We were going to have spaghetti bolognese…but I forgot the pasta sauce. Nachos? Forgot the corn chips…you know, the nacho part. And the sour cream too. Sausages and mash? Forgot the sausages. Tomato and onion sausages were out then too obviously. My 14 day menu plan shriveled to less than a week worth of planned meals we actually had the stuff to make. I can only hope that my next attempt goes a bit better because I cannot tell you how stupid I felt each time I realised one more essential ingredient I forgot.

For the books

I sort of redeemed myself in my own eyes by scoring the exact bookcase I have been wanting for ages at the thrift store. Of all our bookcases (5 – big and small) none are actually for books so it will be a novelty not to have to root around in a box under the dining table for something to read. Unfortunately the bookcase took the very last useable wall space so no more purchases until we move. Settlement of Dave’s mothers house is in exactly 2 months and our 3 year anniversary is tomorrow!! Three years of Dave and the worlds neediest cats and domestic life. Who would have thought I would come to love this life I now lead so very much?

6 Comments

Filed under home, thrifting

6 responses to “Fail-tastic

  1. I understand about the menu planning and leaving out something. It always happens to me!

  2. We menu plan too, it makes life so much easier. Although we’ve been menu planning for a few years, we still sometimes forget things (even when they’re on the shopping list). We keep a few things in the freezer (like potato top pies) for when we do slip up and forget something.

    Great score at the thrift store for your books!

    Not long until you can start looking for a house, exciting!

    And congrats on your 3 year anniversary. My DH and I have been together 8 next February – the years sure fly by when you’re having fun (and when you’re not… lol).

  3. Happy Anniversary to you and Dave! That’s a great bookcase you found. 🙂

  4. Happy Anniversary! Love your new shelf…I’ve been wanting one like that for a while too.

  5. Happy 3rd Anniversary and best of luck with the move.

  6. lol! and a happy anniversary to you! Rachaelxo

Leave a Reply

