Embroidery book giveaway

Don’t get too excited, this is a second hand book. But it is beautiful. The Anchor Book of Crewelwork Embroidery Stitches. It has a bunch of stunning patterns at the back to practise your new stitches on and I can say from experience that these Anchor books are tiny but awesome. I love how little they are so you can take it to the park or the cafe or wherever you usually find yourself with time to learn. I used to get them out of the library all the time for their stitch explanations and when I saw it at the thrift store in such good condition my first thought was I bet you guys would like it. If you’d like to win it then leave me a comment telling me your favourite embroidery stitch whether it’s one you know or one you want to learn. I’ll draw a winner On Monday the 16th NZ time (next Sunday night US time).

blog giveaway

16 Comments

Filed under embroidery, giveaway

16 responses to “Embroidery book giveaway

  1. Renee G

    I actually love doing French knots.

    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

  2. I enjoy cross stitching the most. But I also enjoy doing a lot of other embroidery. The satin stitch is always so satisfying to see the finished product even if it’s time consuming and I still enjoy doing the link stitch partly I suppose because it was the first stitch I learned to do when I was nine years old.

    I would love to enter you giveaway and be thrileed if I won.

    ajoyfulnoise@live (dot) com

  3. I like doing the lazy daisy stitch as I love a little bit of a scattering of flowers in my projects.

  4. I’d love to be able to stitch beautiful neat stain stitch, but alas all my attempts look messy.

  5. Sarah

    i’m a cross stitcher but learning crewel is on my list.Like Louana I would love to do a project with beautiful satin stitch.Too many ideas,not enough time!

  6. Well, I’m just a beginner, but I like the blanket stitch. This a very sweet, generous giveaway.

  7. Ooo, this would be very helpful as I’m teaching the little one embroidery. I really like the running stitch and also the buttonhole stitch. The stitch I’d like the most to learn is the herringbone; it’s been giving me fits. lol. Sure hope your feeling better these days. πŸ™‚

  8. Thanks for this giveaway !
    My favorite stitch is the Portuguese Knotted
    Stem stitch … it is fun to make !
    (btw, 2nd hand books r great for the mind and good/gentle on the pocket ;-D )

  9. micheleleigh

    thanks for the giveaway! πŸ™‚

    i love doing french knots and satin stitching.

    girfan@msn.com

  10. Paulina

    I only use cross stich and Assisi stich. Willing to know how to do something as nice as one on your book’s cover.
    πŸ™‚

  11. Zeda

    OOOh would love that book. Nice giveaway. The cretan stitch I like.
    cookiekenney6@hotmail.com

  12. I love these Anchor books. My favorite stitch is outline or stem, especially with very fine detail and just one stand of floss. I’m pretty good with satin stitch, but my long & short stitches are pathetic — just cannot get it to look decent in a fill.

  13. ok don’t count me ihnn, because i’m no stitcher, but wanted to say how generous of you it was and thank you for your nice words about my daughter’s hair on flickr πŸ˜‰
    have a great weekend
    xo

  14. Priya

    I love cross stitch, blanket stitch, chain stitch and many more …i would love to have the book to learn more …thanks

  15. Piroska

    I love to do the Lazy Daisy stitch.
    :o)

  16. Monica

    Hi πŸ™‚

    My favourite is Satin stitch especially on floral patterns. I am also used to stem stitch for filling up finer areas where satin stitch is a challenge. πŸ™‚ They go hand in hand.

Leave a Reply

