A new level of stupidity

I fell down some stairs on Sunday night (while holding the cat), I went down like a ton of bricks (lets face it, I’m no pixie) as I fell and landed on my left kneecap. Oh the pain. Agony. The really annoying thing is it only looks like a grazed knee. You look at it and think surely I must be the worlds biggest wuss. But even today, 4 days later, I knocked it at the library and nearly screamed an expletive. It feels absolutely fine to walk on but touch it and I’ll bite your hand off. I am beyond clumsy and far too embarassed to fess up to how I fell but needless to say it’s not the first or last time stairs have proved too much for me. Oh yes and the cat is fine. I did however finally start my weight loss exercise on Sunday afternoon. The spring rains seem to have finally stopped (the words Noahs Ark come to mind) so we walked around the block. Well Dave walked and I complained. But what a view from the lookout over Welllington Harbour.

view over Wellington Harbour

The local Waldorf school is having their annual toy, food and craft fair this weekend and I have waited all year for it so hopefully I will be back in a few days with some great photos to share.

12 Comments

Filed under Wellington sights

12 responses to “A new level of stupidity

  1. glendasikes

    Aw, your poor knee :(. Rest it as needed!!

    Man, what an AWESOME view.

  2. Sorry about your knee.
    RICE: Rest, ice, compression, elevation…..that’s what they say anyway.
    With a view like that you’ll be feeling better in no time at all.
    Amazing!

  3. I must tell you how much I love your blog. I’m from the Waikato originally and its nice to hear a kiwi write how she talks. You make me laugh out loud at times and empathise with you (ie missing cats!!).
    Maybe we could do a small cross stitch swap in the New Year?

  4. Sorry to hear about the knee! But what a magnificent view you have, reminds me of Norway which is only like 20 000 miles from New Zealand or something…but still it looks pretty similar to me.

  5. Sounds like you might have bruised the bone. I did something similar years ago, and it hurt for many weeks afterwards but only when it was knelt on or knocked in a particular place. It was also accompanied by a sort of heavy feeling for the first few days. Hope it heals quickly for you.

  6. So sorry about your fall (I always have a few bruises somewhere myself), but that view! That could make anyone feel better!

  7. OUCH – hope it heals up soon!

  8. what a scenic view ! I’ve always wanted to visit NZ ( but until I have a winning lottery ticket…!)
    so sorry to hear about your two accidents… hope your knee will recover real soon — but at least you have your two hands to craft ! yay !

  9. Ouch! It sounds like you have a deep bruise. Have fun at the toy fair. 🙂

  10. My sympathy ~ I too had a crash in the street of all places ~ heavily pregnant ~ more embarrassed that anything, grazed knee, elbow and chin.

  11. oh no! oops (you do make it sound funny though), hope you’re all better soon.

Leave a Reply

