House of cute

Today is the first day in too many days that the sun is out. The wind is also out but oh the joy of having a break in the torrential rain….I can literally feel the sun recharging my batteries. I spent the rainy weekend sewing for the craft fairs. The first one is in FIVE days now and I am finally beginning to freak out. Far too much still to do. If last night is an indication it will be a week of 4am bedtimes and a very grumpy Steph. Poor Dave! But without being too arrogant I think it will be totally worth it when I set up my stall with things like this:

Felt house and playscape

I am inappropriately proud of this thing. It’s entirely handstitched because apparently I am that crazy. Needlefelted vegetable garden and rainbow rocks down the path. It’s backed with a layer of grey felt to hide the stitching and I am going to price it at around a million dollars. Seriously though, I tend to price my stuff far too low and this is definitely going to be priced more appropriately because if someone looks at it and doesn’t see all the effort and hours of my life poured into it then I don’t think they deserve to own it. Rude but you know what I mean? I have another one half made and then I would love to make a couple for etsy for Christmas but then I am absolutely making myself one.

16 Comments

Filed under craft fairs, making stuff, sewing

16 responses to “House of cute

  1. Glenda

    Love it!!! I think the garden is my favorite part :).

  2. I love all the little details! So cute!

  3. That’s adorable! Good luck at the fair!

  4. Oh my goodness, that’s cute, I love the little garden!

    The sun is shining here for the first time in what seems like weeks, makes everything seem better, doesn’t it?!

  5. Very cute! Looking forward to checking out your stall on Saturday. Hope you get a reasonable amount of sleep this week!

  6. oh Step, that is just gorgeous! Rachaelxo

  7. How cute is that! It is so beautiful and well-made. You have to be proud of it.

  8. Oh my goodness! I love that! You definitely should price it accordingly, because seriously whoever takes that home should appreciate it! ๐Ÿ™‚ (Although I think I would very much appreciate it & couldn’t afford it probably ๐Ÿ™‚ So amazing! You should be really proud of it! (I could see a little village of these ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Oh Steph, thats just adorable! x

  10. very cute! I love the little house.

  11. one good apple

    if only real gardens looked that cute… love it x

  12. Too adorable for words. Beautiful work Steph. Looking forward to see you tomorrow. Here’s a to a sell out day!

  13. I have spent way too much time at your blog today! So many interesting things. I will visit again soon. I plundered all the way back to Jan 2008!

  14. bookwormbethie

    love it, and you should definitely price your stuff higher, if someone wants it that bad for themselves for for a giftie, the price shouldn’t matter too much. plus it’s a craft fair full of all kinds of homemade goodness, people should understand they are supporting independent business craft folk ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. W.O.W. !
    I’m like you I don’t count my work time enough… but it is also a matter of meeting the right public…
    This is really pretty and I hope you’ll get the price your efforts deserve

  16. hum.. or rather… the right “audience”/potential customers…

Leave a Reply

