300

This is my 300th post! I am super busy preparing for the craft fairs but I am planning a giveaway for early December, just in time to hopefully make it to the winner by Christmas. Christmas!! I don’t have time to think about that yet!

This weekend has made our heads spin and it is only half over. Today we did the final shopping for supplies for the craft fairs. Such a good feeling. We also visited the thrift store for the first time in at least 2 weeks, maybe even longer. The time gap since my last visit meant lots of new things and I left there a very happy camper.

A swag of amazing vintage craft sewing patterns for 20 cents each:

Score!

Plus bag handles for 40 cents a pair, a couple of books and two Golden Hands magazines. I got the whole lot for $5 and it was hard not to skip out of the store with my bag of swag.

Goodies

We also picked up the dining table today:

A diamond in the rough

When Dave saw it he said “I thought it would be in better condition”. Well, burst my bubble why don’t ya? For $40 you get a diamond in the rough and you have to do the hard work yourself. We were very lucky that Dave just happened to unexpectedly have the large work car and the table fitted in with no room to spare at all. It was of course pouring with rain the whole time we were trying to get it in and out of the car and as you can tell there is now no room in my house. Plus that window behind it is now blocked but look at it…. but imagine it sanded back and oiled and sitting in the dining room of our very own house in a few months. And in a few years my child wil be sitting there scribbling with crayons. That’s a happy table waiting for a lifetime of stories to be told. Sometimes I wish we had more money or a nicer house or newer stuff but when a dining table in a thrift store makes me this happy I’m glad to be me.

8 Comments

Filed under thrifting

8 responses to “300

  1. So many patterns, lucky you! I’m sure that will be a beautiful table when you finish with it, many happy memories will be made sitting at that table πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats on your 300th post, your haul off craft stuff (bargain!) and finding your $40 dining room table. It looks in pretty good nick from the photo.

  3. L Hume

    Some of best furniture memories were bought ‘on the cheap’. We still have a lot of the pieces. Good, solid, wood, old. Those were our requirements. The old was 25 years ago…..makes them ‘vintage’ now. It will look great when you are done. Wishing you many happy memories.

  4. wow what great patterns to find at such a great price! congrats on 300 posts

  5. What great finds and congratulations on 300 posts! Wow!

  6. Congrats on 300 posts and the good haul and the dining room table which is so made for happy memories! Rachaelxo

  7. Great finds, and I agree, that charater and potential filled table is so much better than an expensive new one. Don’t you just love opp shopping.

  8. Congrats on 300 posts! πŸ™‚ I think that is going to be a lovely table & all the more special because it will have a story behind it and love put into it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

