A love affair

Shhhh, don’t tell crochet but I’m having a fling with embroidery. Crochet just got so demanding with its half doubles and magic circles and increasing and decreasing. I really think learning to crochet in a circle will be the death of me.I can do a square though and made this little washcloth for my sisters birthday. I am so happy with the way it striped.

Washcloth

I needed a bit of instant gratification crafting though and for me that means redwork. One colour, no faffing around choosing what goes best with that blue or that shade of green or whatever. Just me, a crisp white piece of fabric and DMC 321.

My first love

I had been thinking of stitching this image for a long time but there is a lot of little detail. When I saw it in Soulemama’s flickr I really knew I had to do it though, it just looked so inviting. It was seeing the cushion she turned it into in her book Handmade Home that made me reach for the floss though. Have you seen the book? I’m on a book diet – one book purchase a month…supposedly – and that was supposed to be Octobers purchase but after getting it out of the library this weekend I’m ordering it tomorrow! It’s that good. Everything in it is useful, revelant, can usually be made with what you have on hand and looks great. I’m definitely not returning my library copy until my own copy arrives.

Until then I have a redwork project to sing its siren song and keep me busy. Mothers Day was in May (I think) and I promised my mother a present so I think this will become a cushion for her – just in time for Christmas.

(Edit: the pattern is from here. Thank you Lynn for letting me know.)

11 Comments

Filed under crochet, embroidery

11 responses to “A love affair

  1. O yes good old 321. I’ve never done any Redwork though, I just can’t limit myself to one colour when I’m embroidering! And I can’t limit my book buying either!
    ps still got the envelope with buttons here, will post them this week!

  2. eva

    I’m just checking that you are alive πŸ™‚
    And I love that crocheted washcloth! If I’d be you, I’d keep it πŸ™‚ I just thought yesterday, I need some for my household too.
    and funny, just before falling asleep, I also thought about making some redwork… πŸ™‚

  3. I have a bag of buttons to send to you for your cause….I also have some old embroidery thread I thought you might like to use for your self, will try and send them off to you next week. xx

  4. I want to stitch that too now! Shame you can’t find the pattern.
    I’m also enjoying Amanda’s book πŸ™‚

  5. oh, I think your washcloth turned out super cute! That embroidery pattern looks super cute too, and I bet it will make a great pillow for your mom! I am going to have to check out that book too, it looks wonderful!

  6. Funny how I turn to the simplicity of crochet when I get fed up with demanding embroidery… although I do stick to basic crochet projects. Enjoy your time with no. 321.

  7. lynn

    I found the pattern at patternbee.com.

  8. My lips are sealed. I do love redwork – so old fashioned! Rachaelxo

  9. I think you should also give it a try to ribbon embroidery πŸ™‚
    You will love the floral embelishments once you practiced πŸ™‚

  10. I just love your term a “book diet”. I have an addiction to books as well and can be found often in my local bookstore (our library is a bit out of date). I can often bribe my 7 yr old daughter to come with me and we can both sit peacefully and read and read and read, it’s wonderful and I don’t mind endorsing her request for a book or two in the end…but yes I’m on a book diet as well and have now infiltrated my local library with requests and hold from other libraries…waiting is hard, but I get the high of looking through the books a few weeks and pretending they are my own. I end up loving them enough I may head back to the bookstore…or a guilty pleasure is ebay’s half book wesbite, so cheap if that’s what’s stopping me!

  11. this looks awesome, I may have to risk it and take up yet another hobby. I have her previous book and love it! must go get this one.

Leave a Reply

