When?

When did I become so grown up? I hit my 30’s this year and it is only in the few months since then that I have really felt like a ‘growed up’ person, or more precisely what I imagine one should feel like. Planning a baby. Woah, that’s growed up for sure. Talk of marriage (although it seems a lot easier to discuss babies with a man than marriage!) and now what for me is the big huge defining moment of my adult life. Buying a house. Not right this second of course, Dave and his sisters still have to sell their mothers house down south but by Christmas we will be hunting, going to open homes, making offers even. I nearly have to go lie down after just typing about it. I never thought in my whole life I would be in this position but here we are (nearly) and woah, that is ‘growed up’ for sure.

Rastus
(just a random photo of Rastus’ healing face for those who asked)

We went to an open home this weekend. Such a mistake. We knew we had no money, we were just seeing what was available in our price range. It wasn’t really even in our price range but looked nice. Anyway it was a mistake, the house was not a ‘do up and sell on for a profit’ house, it was a forever house that was perfect for us down to the tiniest details. Baby room? Check. Cat door? Check. Radiator right next to (my side of) the bed? Not on my list but yes please! We walked away from the house a little sad and I am now banned from even vaguely looking at property listings until we have the money to get excited.

But no matter how grown up I get I will always be whipped reminded of my position when I have a cat sitting on my back:

King of the castle

9 Comments

Filed under cats

9 responses to “When?

  1. I love that last photo. 😉 The house I’m living in now is one that we went to look at “just for fun”. We weren’t even looking to buy, we liked the house we had just fine…but we fell in love. I hope you get the house of your dreams when it’s time.

  2. bookwormbethie

    I am so glad to hear that eventually you will have a house of your own. Owning definitely feels much different than renting, it truly feels like a home. And since you’ve shared on your blog some of the things you are unhappy about in your current place, it is so nice to know that soon you will have a nice home that you will be able to call your own.

    And I know it is a tease to go to open houses since you aren’t ready at this moment to buy, but I say go ahead and go to a few. That way you’ll get an idea of what’s out there and what you like and don’t like and it might make the real house hunting easier.

  3. bookwormbethie

    oh and p.s. I think when you turn 30 you are officially a “grown-up”

    I think that is also when we stop counting the whole year older thing 😉

  4. Now, that is very, VERY exciting news! Will you be looking in Carterton? There are still plenty of bargains to be had over here.

  5. love that last pic…our cats would sit on us all day like this if we let them 🙂

    Have fun with the house hunting, but don’t rush into anything…

  6. Excuse me as I pick me self up off the floor–I fell out of my chair laughing at that last pic! He’s a rather large cat isn’t he? I totally agree with bookwormbethie on the keep looking. You’ll be geared up and ready to make that choice. I always liked peeking at older homes and wondering about a homes history. Great way to get decorating ideas too.

  7. lmb hume

    Amazing … just when you think you have seen a picture of everything….cats do it new! Last picture is great!

  8. glendasikes

    We only bought our first home (as a couple — we’d both owned homes in our early 20’s, prior to meeting each other) in our late 30’s. We initially thought of it as a starter home, but we’ve been here 7 years now and I can see us easily staying another 7 or longer, as long as the neighborhood doesn’t decline like crazy. We’ve done little bits of work here and there over the years, and that’s one of my favorite parts of home ownership, the fact that there is ALWAYS something to do. For us, owning is cheaper than renting was.

    Good luck with your plans to buy :). We did some looking before we were ready to buy and, although it was hard to walk away from a couple houses, in hindsight I think it was really valuable to know what was out there and in what price ranges — where we are right now is perfect in so many ways!

    By the way, the expression on your cat’s face in that last pic is hilarious!!

  9. Ohhh, yeah. Don’t go to open houses before you’re really looking. I still walk by the “one that got away” and sigh and wonder what it would be like to live in such an amazing house. It’s not that I don’t love the house we bought, but it just has so many issues that sometimes it’s hard to love. The one I saw at my first open house was just PERFECT and I still can’t get it out of my head. Congratulations on your big birthday and your big plans for the future!

Leave a Reply

