Stupid-proof

The craft fair is now only 17 days away. This explains my lack of commenting on blogs and the lack of interesting stuff for me to write about. I am at that point where the genius ideas are starting to occur to me and if I rush I will have just about enough time to make them. My felt stash has shrunk to almost nothing. I got so angry yesterday at an awful pattern I chopped up the toy I was sewing and threw it in the bin. Fun times.

Works in progress

Which is where the stupid-proof bit comes in. I am looking for a stupid-proof toy pattern. I have tried modern craft books, vintage craft books, hunted down books other people have liked, trawled the web, tried vintage patterns. I know these patterns can be made, I’ve seen the toys people have produced. They are all so stinking cute it’s crazy. And they make it look effortless. Hmmpf, I’ve tried it and it’s not. In January I made a cat softie from a vintage pattern. I didn’t even bother finishing it once I realised it looked like it had hemorrhoids. Apparently those 2 darts I left out on the inside of the legs…kind of important. This month I have made a wee felt elephant. He was gorgeous, looked tidy and quite easy but on the home stretch the trunk twisted horribly. And I had no idea how to attach the ears. So I tried a bigger, fabric elephant softie yesterday. That was the one I chopped up half sewn. So badly designed it was a joke.

I want a pattern, most likely an elephant, that stands up. It has to have easy to attach ears that can easily be attached at the same height on both sides, preferably no foot pads – basic soft toy making should not be that stressful, a tidy pattern with a minimum of pieces, the back end of the toy should be tidy, no darts or tucks, no weak points, easy to sew trunk. So I am left with a dilemma. Apparently no such pattern exists, certainly not one that I know of. So I am going to try design one. This may or may not turn out the way I want, the list of things it needs to have or not have is long but after that terrible pattern I tried yesterday I can certainly not do worse than that.

9 Comments

Filed under craft fairs, making stuff

9 responses to “Stupid-proof

  1. hilarious!: “it looked like it had hemorrhoids. Apparently those 2 darts I left out on the inside of the legs…kind of important.”

    I feel your pain about the softies…I can never get them right, so I’ve stopped trying

  2. frill.friend

    found this book on Amazon … maybe just seeing the elephant on the cover would help ?

    http://www.amazon.com/Soft-Animals-Z-Collection-Realistic/dp/0873495799/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1237994683&sr=8-1

    darts maybe easier to deal with if sewn using a sewing machine rather than by hand … then the excess can be cut off very close to the stitching without pulling out (maybe use a very small zigzag stitch) … maybe even cut before sewing and then it would be easier to get the bulky fabric folds in little areas under the presser foot ??

  3. bookwormbethie

    there is a fantabulous pattern for a stuffed elephant in the ‘sew everything workshop’ by dianna rupp.

  4. i feel your pain……i’ve been there too. i’ve spent so much time and energy berating myself – ‘why can’t i do this’, etc…… i admire your persistence though and i’m barracking for you! i hope you create the absolute perfect, put a smile on your face cute, doll – or elephant or whatever 🙂
    l
    x

  5. Kim

    I made a couple of elephants from the book “Last-Minute Patchwork + Quilted Gifts” by Joelle Hoverson. I am by no means a talented softie seamstress, but thought they turned out really cute. I found the pattern to be fairly simple – good luck!

  6. I’m sure you didn’t really mean for this post to be funny but it is!!! Good luck with your quest:) Rachaelxo

  7. I’m looking forward to seeing your mobiles at craft 2.0. I have a couple of elephant patterns and will try and remember to bring them along for you.

  8. Hi there,

    Congratulations!!! You have been awarded Kreativ Bloggers Award from me. Come and grab it from my blog and post it on yours.

Leave a Reply

