Sometimes you win some, sometimes…

…you lose some. In the win category I finally managed to get a treasury on etsy. I was beginning to think it was impossible to snag one. Now I only have to achieve my goal of being featured in one. I live in futile hope!

ornament design - win, fail or maybe?

In the undecided category…well it’s not quite a lose but not quite a win either. I tried to make my normal hexagon ornament but I couldn’t decide what to put in the middle so I decided to try making one without a middle. Surprisingly it succeeded but…in my mind the corners were crisp, the lines straight and the ribbon sewn the right way out. Man alive, I was pissed when I discovered I’d sewn that on the wrong way! I think it has potential though. I’ll work extra hard on the next attempt to make the corners sharp which will help. What do you think of it?

Definitely in the lose category though is breaking my ironing board by lying across it to reach the iron power switch (yeah, I’m a winner) and causing a packet of pins to go…everywhere.

Super fast pick up tool

Luckily for me computers have super strong magnets in them and we have a pile from obsolete PC’s which are a GREAT help when you drop 200 pins on carpet. The pins are still slightly magnetised though which is a little annoying when you pick up one and get 2 or 3!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sometimes you win some, sometimes…

  1. anna r

    Love your hexagon ornament. I am working on a Grandmothers flower garden quilt. And I don’t know what I would do without my magnet at my side when i sew.

  2. Hi Steph! Congrats on your treasury! I am addicted to checking it. I have finally started getting in some treasuries. I think listing and re-listing something every day is key. I will feature you if I am every able to get a listing. šŸ™‚

  3. Lately my days have been more of the ‘lose some’ variety – I sympathise over the pins (I’m still finding the odd one from my last spill…). Still, I wouldn’t have noticed that the ribbon was inside out unless you had mentioned it.

  4. looks like you could use a pincushion šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

