Keeping a workbasket

In our 3 months here I have now rearranged my craft area 3 times and I have a suspicion that in my attempt to find the most streamlined, space saving set up possible I have achieved the exact opposite. Each rearrangment works so well in my head. But alas just like that beautiful singing voice I hear in my head it doesn’t work out so well on application. So right now everything is scattered wider than is practical. But rather than move it around a 4th time when I know it’s not going to make much difference I implimented The Workbasket again. There’s no good way to photograph a basket of unmade stuff but it makes this post a little less wordy if I post a photo of it:

The Workbasket

I had one briefly last year but the cat started sleeping in it so that ended that experiment. This time it’s a bit higher off the ground so I hope to get a bit more use out of it. All my WIP’s, UFO’s and other not quite done things sit in it awaiting attention. They may not get it of course, it’s not a magical workbasket but at least they’re all in one place. A ball awaiting closing, another try at knitting (I may have cast on 6 stitches, I may have just made a mess resembling 6 stitches), white tshirt scraps to be tea dyed for dolls heads. My To Do list is no smaller but at least most of it is now in one place.

Have you read the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer? You either love it or hate it. I requested Twilight from my library and after starting at 134 on the reserves queue I finally got it last week. Loved it, devoured it. And am still 44 in the queue for the 2nd book, 93 for the 3rd book and haven’t even bothered reserving book 4 yet. I ‘accidentally’ read a few spoilers online too (if you’re going to put SPOILER it’s just begging me to read it!!) so I am now REALLY dying to read the other books. Does anyone in New Zealand have the 2nd, 3rd and 4th books they could lend me? I’ll pay postage. I’ll have them back in your hands in record time, I just have to read them before 2010!!!

10 Comments

Filed under home, making stuff, request

10 responses to “Keeping a workbasket

  1. Sam

    Hello 🙂
    Lovely workbasket, the fabric is divine! I have a workbasket also, will have to post a photo on my blog. Unfortunately as it sits in our lounge it tends to get full of non-crafty junk like magazines and remote controls!
    I haven’t read any Twilight books… is that the one they’ve just made a film of?

  2. Pretty basket…..I can’t believe the waiting list for Twilight…I felt bad telling a young girl at work last week that she was 5th on the list! Thats not quite so bad after all! xx

  3. My work basket is a complete disaster. It’s time to clean it out! I ended up loving Twilight–we have 3 libraries in our area so we ran around putting our names on the waiting lists at all 3!

  4. I haven’t read Twilight yet….I think I might be one of the last people left that hasn’t. 😉

  5. You have inspired me to sort out my work basket, that would be the one I stuff things into and then rummage through looking for other things! This will be after I have sorted out the garage . . . Rachaelxo

  6. it’s renee, your swap-bot buddy here…guess what?? i have all of the twilight series…i read them all!!

    would you like to swap me something in return for the books? the second book is paperback and the 3rd + 4th are hardcover…

    let me know!

    xoxo

  7. paper2yarn

    ooh! i like your workbasket – and the blog in general!! good luck on your adoption journey – loving a child is the best thing in the world – there is no other love that goes deeper.

    thanks for sharing!
    pmking11(via swapbot)

  8. I’ve rearranged my craft room so many times…I think I spend more time cleaning/arranging than actually working in there!

  9. I really should implement a workbasket of my own. My worry is that I would need an entire closet to hold all of my in-progress projects!

    …and Twilight? LOVE. love. love. I’ve read them all and I think they get better as they go along. I only wish I hadn’t read them so FAST. I can’t seem to find anything that’s grabbing & holding my attention as much.

  10. Congrats, again, on being on the Craft Mag. Blog….amazing!

Leave a Reply

