Crafty bits of awesomeness

I finally finished the hexagon dolls quilt/wall hanging/whatever it is!! I was only a day behind my estimate which is pretty good for a crafter. I hand stitched the binding on the back which was a first for me and I am proud of it. The thread is a couple shades lighter than the hot pink binding but I like the little stitches around the back, they give it that special handmade quality. Bask in its glory:

Handstitched hexagon quilt

The backing is the same yellow and pink Heather Bailey floral as some of the hexagons. It’s now in the shop here. If you want to buy it put BLOGFRIEND in the comments to seller box and I’ll give you $1 shipping.

Other bits of awesomeness have to include yesterdays thrifting scores. I have noticed over the past year that prices in thrift stores have crept up and in some cases rocketed up into insane ranges. Bargains are getting harder to find. I did a little jump for joy though when I found a pair of green napkins for 50 cents and a huge supermarket bag full of scraps for $3. Most of the scraps were curtain remnants or old lady stuff but I did rescue a few little bits and these larger pieces:

Thrifted fabrics

The napkins are destined for embroidery, the very dark blue stuff is destined for baby pants and the blue will become a cute vintage baby dress eventually. You’ll notice most sentences I utter these days include the word ‘baby’. I can’t help it! I try to think of other things then I spot these wooden bowls for $2 each.

Bowls and leather

Perfect for a baby to eat off so into the baby basket they go! And that brown leather? Well that’s a freebie from my shoe repairer brother and it’s going to turn into baby booties of course! The piece he gave me is worth probably over $30 and if I cut right I might get 2 pairs out of it. This years main craft goal is to learn to make fabric booties, I just can’t seem to manage them and it can’t be that hard! So the leather will sit around for a while but it’ll be there when I am ready!

And embroiderers, there’s more awesomeness. I’m running another redwork penny square swap on swap-bot. There’s a couple more days until it closes, so come join us here! I haven’t swapped or embroidered in ages so I’m excited!

4 Comments

Filed under making stuff, shop talk, thrifting

4 responses to “Crafty bits of awesomeness

  1. my3boysandi

    nice quilt
    Dad Wonderful wood turns bowls

  2. That quilt is adorable! I might have to try one of these before I (ever) get started on a bigger grandma’s garden quilt

  3. You found some wonderful treasures at the thrift shop! I really like those wood bowls. I have been trying to find a moment to go thrifting…maybe today.

  4. That little quilt is lovely & what great finds!

Leave a Reply

