How to roast a chicken the lovestitches way

– This is my 196th post on this blog. I’m planning to have a giveaway for my 200th post – although if finances continue this way it’ll be a really small one 😉

– I did get my prize from Kathryn Estelle’s giveaway a couple of days ago. Redwork heaven! I feel so spoilt and oh my gosh, those redwork patterns!! So many in one envelope!!

Redwork goodies for me!

– The title reference? I forgot to change the oven from grill to bake before I started roasting the chicken and potatoes. I only noticed after an hour. Which is actually a lot sooner than I usually notice – if at all. Those two little buttons cause me so much grief in the kitchen! After yet another panicked call to my grandma (who will probably change her phone number soon) the chicken came out oh so very good. Perfect. The potatoes….not so good.I don’t advise roasting a chicken my way BTW. It’s stressful.

– My mum freaked me out yesterday by telling me that my grandma had a funny turn on Monday. She had an ECG and they found a heart abnormality! Her mother died of a heart thing and it was scary to realise that one day the matriach of my whole family will be gone. I have been very lucky so far, I still have 3 grandparents.

– Earlier this year we began the long process of adopting a baby. Or at least going into the adoption pool. We went to the information evening and filled out the forms but we felt at the time that we weren’t in the best position to go ahead. After 6 months of thinking, pining, debating, calculating and much much more thinking we have decided that 2009 is our year. I have a whole big post about it for my next entry – and it involves crafts (because this is a craft blog, sometimes.)

– Dave is on holiday for the next 3 weeks. God help me. But I intend to get some more driving practise in. God help pedestrians.

8 Comments

Filed under mail love, randomness

8 responses to “How to roast a chicken the lovestitches way

  1. On the one (and only) occasion my husband cooked for me (I say cooked, he actually took a pizza out of the packaging and put it in the oven) he too used the grill and not the oven setting. Pizza is not good grilled 😉
    How exciting to be thinking about a new addition, I look forward to your next blog entry to learn more!

  2. Pingback: Website Directory - Adoption

  3. You’ll love having him at home! You only speak of him in the most loving terms.

    I do so hope next year will bring you the baby you long for. You sound like perfect ‘Mum’ material!

  4. Good luck with the adoption process…so many children need a loving home in this world. BTW, how did you get the snowfall feature on your blog? Why can’t I do anything beyond basic with WordPress?

  5. Good luck with everything on the adoption front. My kids truly are the light of my life….

    Finally got around to your Blogroll: Great sites!

  6. I wish you all the best as you wait and prepare for your baby….how very exciting!

  7. my3boysandi

    praying for your grandma and 2009

    LOL your last point had me in fits of giggles hope you and Dave have a nice next 3 weeks 🙂

  8. So glad to see you like the patterns and that you received them in such good time! Looking forward to your 200th post!

    Blessings to you on your adoption plans!

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

