A cushion and a cat

The cat came back after 18 hours. We spent our last $30 on an ink cartridge and printed up a pile of Lost Cat posters and the little SOB came strolling back at 11pm with a look on his face that clearly said, “Well, if you shut me in the bathroom without checking the window is shut what do you think is going to happen?” After last time I was positive that he was headed back to the old house but thank God, he’s apparently far too lazy for that now. Needless to say there will be very few open windows in our house for the next month or so. He only seems to run away when the weather is humid too…ugh.

Kids reading cushion - pastel

I finished a second kids reading cushion for the craft fair. It’s slightly wonky at the back but I don’t care, I loooove the colours so much! The first cushion was more boy coloured, this is my girl cushion. Now I have to make a couple of reading blankets to go with them, nothing fancy but something bright and soft to inspire little readers. And perhaps a vintage Little Golden book with each set to get them started. They were definitely what I grew up reading.

And now my monitor (laptop broke, I had to go back to a desktop PC) is making noises like a mouse is inside. Only when it’s on so I know there isn’t really a mouse but damn, it’s creepy all the same and so I’m off to do something far away from the desk!

10 Comments

Filed under cats, embroidery, making stuff

10 responses to “A cushion and a cat

  1. What a gorgeous cushion. I can’t wait to see the reading blankets. I hope you remember to post a picture before they go to the craft fair.
    And as for cats and their attitudes! They are so cute they can get away with anything. I’m so glad yours came back safely from his little holiday.

  2. my3boysandi

    I was going to say yesterday that if you ever move again to buy ear plugs and put up with the meowing
    Ill even buy you some if you send me your new addy

    Im so pleased he came back

    I read Little Golden books to my boys still
    well I read them Our Little Man and because My Home Schooler still likes story time more often than not he will come along and listen too
    I havent come across many that arent full of a good story or two

    what does D think about your computer???

    Ive never owned a laptop
    Id like to one day
    when Im rich and famous LOL

    Like the cushion
    it really could be for a boy or a girl
    I hope you make the reading blanket a mutual colour and the book attracts either a boy or girl too as you will have more chance of selling it

    again I say Im so pleased for you

    jen

  3. Glad kitteh is back safe and sound!
    And the cushion is lovely πŸ˜€

  4. Oh I love that cushion! So cute!

    Glad to hear that he came back… I read that and was worried for him, so I am really glad to hear that he is back πŸ™‚

  5. Glad to hear your little kitty returned! This pillow is so cute and I loved LGBs growing up too πŸ™‚

  6. my3boysandi

    Hey S justfollowing up on the wonderful Little Golden Books you might like to read my blog
    I had a surprise and a giggle about My Little Man and one of them today πŸ™‚

  7. The birds/tree image is strikingly pretty. Glad to hear your cat came back! We once had a cat that would occasionally manage to get out and then be gone for 2-3 days.

  8. It’s so good that kitty is back. Mine has a habit of disappearing for about 4 days every summer around midsummer. I’m not sure if there’s some haven of plenty that he visits or what.
    Sorry that you had to worry so much.

    The cushion is lovely. I’m always looking for ways to get my kids reading. They hate it unless I’m reading to them. At 8 this doesn’t really fly for my eldest.

  9. That cushion is adorable!! I know it’s aimed at kids – but I want one myself =P

    I’m so glad that your cat came back. It’s a terrible feeling when you don’t know whats happened to it.

    Sorry to hear about your computer. Hopefully it will fix itself (the magic elves sometimes work miracles =P). Maybe having your kitty back will scare the ‘mouse noises’ away!! =)

  10. What a sweet cushion!! It’s adorable! I just discovered your blog and I am in love with it! you make the cutest things!

    ~Amy Rose~

Leave a Reply

