A very sticky calamity

It was utter carnage people! Carnage!! I was all set to buy a nice cold bottle of coke, take the train into the city (a rare treat) and get far too many embroidery books from the huge main branch of the library. Easy peasy. Until Dave gets involved. Rather than buy one small bottle of coke it’s not much more expensive to buy two huge bottles and pour some into two little bottles so we can both have some. So he bought two big bottles, siphoned some into small bottles, put mine in the fridge and left for work. All is well. A little later I open the fridge door too fast, my bottle falls out of the fridge door onto the floor at just the right angle to puncture. Pssssshhhhhhhhttttt all over the kitchen floor. And the cupboards, dishwasher, drawers, into the pantry. Everywhere. And all over my clothes. Needless to say that I had to get a later train. I had to mop the whole kitchen, walls and all and do a load of laundry before I finally got out the door. And I had no money left for that bottle of coke I was craving. I don’t care if it’s bad for me, drinking ice cold coke on a sunny day is bliss.

Eventually I got to town, enjoyed a little sun:

Civic Square

Stuffed my backpack full of enough books to keep me busy for a long time (and make walking up the hill to my house a real workout!):
Lugged home from the library

And headed home to find this in my mailbox. Yay!!!

Good mail!!

I got an email from readitforward.com ages ago. Didn’t know I subcribed but whatever! They had 3 free books you could choose from. I didn’t know if they would send to me but this one is a historical novel about a 17th century English embroideress captured by pirates. It really sounded amazing so I jumped all over it in the hope they would send to NZ. They did!! I actually started reading a library copy while I waited and I can’t wait to finish it. Highly recommended!! If you go to the site it looks like you can still get a free copy of your own too!

But just in case you’re thinking my day has picked up…don’t be fooled by a free book. My dim bulb of a cat climbed a fence, leapt into a tree after a bird and promptly realised he was stuck. My reward for getting him down:
Frickin' cat got stuck in a tree

And cat scratches burn like fire. Next time I get woken at 6.30am by a cat on my head and a thumping headache (possibly related) I am rolling over and going back to sleep!! Right now I have to go wipe down the kitchen counters and any sticky spots I missed. Joy.

11 Comments

Filed under cats, mail love, Wellington sights

11 responses to “A very sticky calamity

  1. my3boysandi

    oh no!!!!!!!!!!
    will Dave be in trouble when he gets home tonight???

    that ball suspended in the air in the Civic Square intrigues me

    might have to go look at that booky site

    ouch thats quite a scratch

  2. You certainly have had some bad luck with kitties lately!! lol

  3. Oh my…what a day! It looks like you got some great books though.

  4. Whimper….. Wellington Public Library…. How I miss you…..

  5. Hope your dodgy day didn’t ruin your mood entirely – books are always a nice pick-me-up, though…

  6. Ouch! That looks like it hurts!

  7. What a day you’ve had! Hope it has picked up since the cat incident and you’ve been able to enjoy a nice cold bottle of coke 🙂 Great book haul from the library!

  8. It sounds like you dealt with the coke incident with lots of grace. Wow :o) I admire that. it reminds me of the time that I was using a (full) bottle of wine as a bookend for my cookbooks on the shelf above my sink. I pulled one book out… the wine bottle fell from about 6 ft… shattered everywhere. Wine everywhere. Glass… yuck. At least I didn’t get hurt at all. It was a pain in the you-know-what to clean. Ahhh… stacks of library books are so wonderful! Just like finding treasure. Thanks for the book suggestions… I’m going to have to check out read it forward and see what that’s all about. Take care and have a great day!
    xox,
    Linnea

  9. seems it was not the type of lucky day where you can go & buy a lottery ticket, as we say here… sorry. but at least you had a that blue sky ?!!!
    I was stitching this evening with the 2 worse Dr House i’ve ever watched, and thinking about you…
    XO

  10. eva

    There are some good embroidery books you got!
    I would n`t mind to go thru these myself 🙂

  11. Aaah. A trip to the library and an ice cold coke. I agree…ain’t nothing better!

Leave a Reply

