Adoption and mid-year assessment

We had the adoption ‘group information session’ last night. It was a bit of a poorly organised farce and I came away from it feeling oh so slightly depressed. They had the wrong powerpoint slides on the computer and on top of that they forced us to sit through a terribly acted role play. And then there was the sobering statistics. They aren’t good. And they’re getting worse fast. They don’t know why either. It’s a little lot heartbreaking to repeat the numbers. Three years ago the Wellington region had 30 couples on the waiting list. That year they had 16 adoptions. You had roughly a 50% chance of being picked in a year or less. Currently there is now 40 couples waiting and in the past 12 months there has been 5 adoptions. Which means a lot of people are going to be waiting a long time. I don’t ‘do’ waiting very well.

This hasn’t put me off applying, very little could, and we’ve decided to put our application in for the 2 day education ‘thingy’ in early September. It isn’t the next course but we need time to try find a smaller house to move to and choose our character referees and that sort of thing. I have my eye on a GORGEOUS townhouse, so fingers crossed. We actually had a cat sighting there a few days ago, how weird!!

In the meantime it’s only a few days short of the middle of the year so I decided it’s time to assess how things stand. Life, relationship, crafts, career, personal, you know what I mean. That’s going to take some thinking for sure. I got my ravelry invite today, just as my blue knitting fell apart. I managed two whole rows before I ended up with a mystery loop thing. I was doing so well until that loop appeared, the whole fell apart in a matter of seconds and I stomped off in disgust. Knitting, bah!

Here’s a random photo of something beautiful, just to keep me positive

The glow of love

6 Comments

Filed under adoption

6 responses to “Adoption and mid-year assessment

  1. hang in there! Everything will work out in the end…

  2. Good for you! You will be glad you stuck it out when that child comes into your life.

  3. jen

    praying for you
    HUGS

    Jen

  4. I will keep my fingers crossed!

  5. Fingers and toes still crossed for you!
    Wish I lived nearby, I’d come and help you with your knitting. 🙂

  6. good luck.
    you know it’s : waiting + the hard way, everywhere. most people have to wait for 18-24 months here.
    I know you can. I know you will.
    XO

Leave a Reply

