Frazzled

I started care of that little 11 month old boy on Monday and today the care was stopped. These 3 days have been some of the worst of my life. He was so upset the whole time. And I was too. I burst into tears this morning, sobbed my head off and nearly did it again this afternoon at the park. The mother kept me waiting for THREE HOURS at the park before she turned up. He screamed for 2 of those hours. The company I work for have been fabulous thankfully and hopefully I will have a better work situation soon but for now I need to calm myself down and spend some time with my poor freaked out cat. I am working on a few ideas for the shop and also some personal embroidery for no other reason than I can now leave needles around again.

Hear that? The washing machine. Not nursery rhymes on repeat, not a screaming baby, not me crying, just clothes on the wash cycle. Music to my ears today. If I hear baa baa black sheep (or have to sing it) anytime in the next week I’ll scream.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Frazzled

  1. twolimeleaves

    No wonder you feel frazzled! Leaving you waiting (more to the point, leaving her BABY waiting) for three hours is unforgivable. Sounds as if you have had a baptism of fire in home daycare. It can only get easier!!

  2. Did she keep you informed during the three hours?!

    If not I would have delivered the baby to Social Services…

  3. Poor you and poor little kid too. Fingers crossed the next placement works out. Have fun stitching in the meantime!

  4. Oh I feel for you. Sounds like you’ve had a few stressful days. Enjoy the sound of your washing machine and give your cat a cuddle and pour yourself a glass of wine. Thinking of you!

  5. jen

    oh im so sori for you
    maybe your next child and its parent will be easier

  6. Whew! I’m glad that’s over for you! Take a much deserved rest and stitch till your heart’s content! Fingers crossed that the next round will be better!

  7. sounds horrendous! There’s nothing like a bit crafting to aid recovery 🙂

  8. Oh Steph – poor you! It sounds as if it was an awful experience. Maybe the company you worked for should have set up some sort of transition programme for the little boy so that he gradually got used to being away from Mum?
    Enjoy the silence AND the embroidery.
    Hoping that your next experience is a wonderful one.

  9. Bex

    I’d love to know where she was for 3 hours!
    Being a Mumma I have to say I understand that sometimes unavoidable things happen but, 3 hours?!
    Anyhoo, know that kids cry, sometimes for very long periods & that it wasn’t your fault.
    You & I know you’ll survive, I feel really sorry for the kid. He’s stuck with Mum.
    Next one’ll be a breeze…;) Xxx

  10. Gawd you’re a brave lass! Well done!

  11. renaissancemama

    Oh my, that sounds tough! Sorry you had to go through that horrible experience. I know I would be exhausted.

  12. Oh gosh, sounds like you were very stressed. I hope you relax and unwind.

  13. That is certainly a trial by fire if I’ve ever heard one! I cannot believe you had to wait for such a long time. I understand if there is a delay… but that is insane!

    Enjoy the hum of the washer. A new wonderful wee one will be there before you know it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

