When babies attack

Parents that read this will laugh themselves silly at me. I’ve cared for kids since I was 16, in their homes, in centres but never in my home. This is just so different. Their homes are set up for them, centres are set up to be safe for all kids to a point. My home, which I thought I did so well at childproofing (again, to a point) just screams HAZARD to me now. I had my first parent interview this morning with a couple and their 11 month old boy. Just starting to try walk – bye bye glass coffee table! Teething – sticking everything in his mouth. So looking around I can say the coffee table has to be swapped, that pot has to be moved, that stuff has to go, those have to be hidden, that has to be cushioned…and thats after I thought it was reasonably baby safe. Eep. Oh yeah, the cat was NOT happy about the intruders either. I have the scratches to prove it.

This is the results of 45 minutes of an 11 month old baby:

45 mins with an 11 month old

On the crafting front yesterday did not go well. Every craft I tried went wrong. I sewed my ‘go to’ craft, the little birds from Last Minute Patchwork + Quilted Gifts which I always make when I want to sew but have limited time. All went well until I poked the corners with the chalk pencil tip and it went sliding through the seam. I must have not caught the seam properly so that was the end of that poor little birdy.

When good crafts go bad

Then I tried embroidery. The less said on that matter the better. Unpicking gets old fast is my only comment. Lets hope the crafts pick their game up this week.

4 Comments

Filed under home, making stuff

4 responses to “When babies attack

  1. jen

    yep i wouldnt keep that coffee table
    toddlers are into EVERYTHING

    you have a lovely airy house šŸ™‚

  2. I like making stuff for babies, but I definitely don’t want any rugrats crawling around our house! Bummer on the craft accidents! I hate it when I poke through things like that!

    And, your bunting looks so great with the sunlight shining!

  3. The only people living in our house are one 39 year old, a 41 year old and cats…and our house looks like that all the time…without babies! šŸ˜›

    I love how big & bright your rooms are..and ditto on the banner/pennant…it looks great! Did you make that and I missed it somehow?

  4. sorry your efforts were ruined… but next bird will be fine, I’m sure ! šŸ™‚
    one thing I have learned : a house is NEVER childproof ! LOL
    and thanks so much for your email, I was very touched.
    XO

Leave a Reply

