Declutter begins

This is my running tally of money saved/earned/unspent and also of the total amount of things I have recycled/donated/gifted/thrown out of my life. More money, less mess!!

Week one (Sunday 23th December):

In (15):

  • 3 fabrics
  • 1 jar – thrifted
  • 1 Shirley Temple postcard – thrifted
  • 1 book – thrifted
  • 2 embroidery patterns – a treat to myself
  • 3 books – free at the tip shop
  • 1 magnet set
  • 1 kids ironing set
  • 1 kids shopping trolley
  • 1 kids cleaning set

Out (100):

  • 5 patterns
  • 1 pattern insert
  • 1 folder
  • 47 books!
  • 3 wallets
  • 1 toe seperator pedicure kit
  • 1 wrist cuff
  • 1 flashing ice cube (a misguided Xmas pressie of years past)
  • 1 corkscrew from an old cracker
  • 2 keyrings
  • 1 small make up vanity
  • 2 hair clips
  • 1 handbag (1 down, plenty more to go)
  • 1 bear making magazine
  • 1 bag of 20 yr old fabric scraps my gran dumped on me long ago
  • 1 pair of shoes
  • 1 jar of buttons (gran again)
  • 1 mini paper shredder
  • 2 nighties
  • 1 tshirt – nobody needs to see my flabby gut in that now)
  • 1 hair iron
  • 1 dictionary
  • 2 comic books
  • 2 puzzle books
  • 8 textbooks
  • 1 copy of The Road Code
  • 2 bag handles – cat chewed
  • 1 TV
  • 1 puzzle book
  • 1 stethoscope (I was a student nurse long ago)
  • 1 ball puzzle
  • 1 vase thing
  • 1 chair carrier bag
  • 2 storage boxes

Nothing repurposed this week, just taken straight to the recycling shop at the landfill.

100 out – 15 in = 85 total out!

As usual the first week inspired me to a major clean up. Really unsure if I can maintain the declutter but I have certainly made an enormous difference in this one day of cleaning. I have also got a small pile of stuff to sell online so perhaps next week I’ll have space and a small pile of money. The goal this week is to buy no more than 3 things (should be easy, nothings open!) and to find my sewing desk!!! I know exactly where I left it last but I can’t find it for the life of me!

Sewing desk mess for my blog

9 Comments

Filed under De-clutter

9 responses to “Declutter begins

  1. Remarkably well done. That is a lot of “outs”. Keep up at that rate, and you will find that sewing desk in no time – and no doubt it will motivate you to make something more, and mess it all up again. Does it every time for me!

    I am blogrolling you…

    Janet McKinney

  2. my3boysandi

    wtg what you do with the stuff out

  3. Remarkable – I could swear that is a photo of my sewing table! You’ve done really well – big pat on the back and a little chocolate for strength. 🙂

  4. theshoppingsherpa

    I found your sewing table! Right there next to The New Crewel!

    Which reminds me – I have the same book – was desperate to own it in fact. Have I ever used it?

    *shuffles feet and decides the ironing really needs to be done RIGHT NOW*

    Well done. Keep it up.

  5. Very impressed with declutter. Refuse to tell my partner that people are decluttering as then he will force me to. He’s rather unimpressed with my fabric collection as it is. Could be that it is because he has a ‘corner’ and I own 3/4 of our bedroom. *muhahaha*

  6. good for you! it always feels so great to clear out things no longer in use, doesn’t it? I’ve always heard that clutter does not allow creativity to prosper and it’s totally true for me. If I’ve got too many things to do or make, then I can’t focus or have fun with the project.

  7. Fantastic!
    Not only the amount, but the fact you were able to keep track of it!

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

  8. Alright, that’s it. I AM going to begin cleaning out closets tonight! You have inspired me!

  9. I love watching people organize and declutter, but my stuff is a mess. LOL!

Leave a Reply

