Bootie mountain

Bootie mountain

I guarantee that title is going to get some odd google searches ;) Technically it’s a bootie and hat mountain. My gran is obsessed with knitting hats and my mother is utterly and truly obsessed with booties. Whenever my gran sends something knitted there’s always a tiny hat in with it. The slightly annoying thing? Not one of them will still fit when winter gets here. And the booties? They are pretty, my mother does exquisite lacy stuff….but the only pair I ever asked her for have still not been finished. I am so excited about the love my family has for our munchkin before she has even arrived….but I can only cross my fingers that I am not that bad when my girl becomes a mother.

On the baby side of life….well there’s no baby yet. Perhaps this weekend? I am hoping hard and signs are good….but I’ve never met a baby that did what was convenient for anyone but itself. She’s dropped again (I didn’t think it was possible but yep you can get more uncomfortable that I already was), 4/5 engaged in the pelvis (5/5 means crowning), playing bouncy games on my leg and back nerves and kicking the crap out of me. Seriously, everyone says babies kick less violently as they run out of room. And for a while she did change from boom boom kicks to rolls and prods. But then things must have got really tight in there and she got mad. She kicks harder now than she ever has and I’ve let out more than a few yells of pain at the sudden appearance of a limb. I’m a little terrified to give birth now. Not from the pain, I will totally take the drugs if I need them. But the determined personality that she is already displaying has me petrified. What are we in for?

6 Comments

Filed under pregnancy

6 responses to “Bootie mountain

  1. You are in for a lot of fun – my last one was and is still very determined. but it’s all good – just remember – you want these qualities in an adult, so you have to put up with them when they are kids.
    I was two weeks late with my last two. TWO WEEKS!!! Drove me nuts!!! People kept ringing….asking me if I’d had the baby yet. “Would I not tell you if I’d had the bloody baby!!!” It got to the point where I wouldn’t answer the phone.
    Perhaps it’s a sign of what’s to come. Kids are so unpredictable – you think you’ve established routines and then they change. You think you understand them….then you don’t. But to be honest – it’s all amazing. Even the crap bits…But for the most part it’s lots of fun. Can’t wait to see how you get on :-)
    L
    x

  2. LoL, love this! You’ll be fine. I can’t wait to read all about you meeting your determined, strong girl! :D

  3. Jen

    beautiful knitting
    maybe youll be able to donate them to those babies in winter that really need them

    pretty freaky when you see sudden appearance of a limb.
    I remember having a bath when I was preggy with Sarah whose nearly 21 year old (far out i feel old)
    and she moved and you could see her arm nearly as plain as day – freaky

    wont be long
    cant wait to see her

  4. bookwormbethie

    thinking of you, and dave, and the wee baby girl in your belly, but not for long! so excited for you!!!! best wishes, rainbows, unicorns, and all that happy cheezy stuff! you and dave are about to be a mom and dad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! not that you aren’t a mom and dad to your 2 kitties, but you know what i mean ;)

  5. Leslie

    Lovely to have booties- for a ‘proper’ baby, with matinee jackets. Ooh, so sweet. For winter you need Bobux- they can’t kick or rub them off.

  6. Cathy

    Good luck for the birth…let’s hope I am too late!

Leave a Reply

